Sharjah Ruler swears in municipal councils’ members, chairmen

Sharjah: A total of 85 chairmen and members of Sharjah Municipal Councils were sworn in on Sunday before His Highness Dr Shaikh Sultan Bin Mohammad Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah.

The members represent 9 municipal councils including Sharjah City, Khorfakkan, Kalba, Al Dhaid, Dibba Al Hosn, Al Hamriyah, Al Batayeh, Al Madama and Maliha District.

Dr Shaikh Sultan said to further develop human capital there was a need for concerted effort by focusing on science and knowledge. We need to invest in human beings by developing their intellectual understanding, to be active and contributing members in serving the society, he said.

He said Sharjah has set the stage for building capacities of its citizens by establishing universities, and scientific and academic institutes, and providing scholarships. He stressed that our responsibilities are numerous, but at the forefront is improving human beings.

Dr Shaikh Sultan noted that Sharjah has adopted several projects to revive various areas and cities, including the Almarai project, which covers more than 10 square kilometres. The project aims to preserve the environment and provide areas for grazing. Municipal councils will take care of maintenance of these pastures.

The ceremony was attended by Shaikh Khalid Bin Abdullah Al Qasimi, Head of Ports and Customs Department, Shaikh Khalid Bin Essam Al Qasimi, Chairman of the Department of Civil Aviation, and Shaikh Salem Bin Abdul Rahman Al Qasimi, Director of the office of His Highness the Ruler of Sharjah, as well as other Shaikhs and senior officials.


Share This Post