How parties stack up in Pakistan’s new government

Islamabad: The leading party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has been allotted 33 of the total 70 National Assembly seats reserved for women and minorities, according to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

The ECP announced on Saturday the reserved seats in the National Assembly and four provincial assemblies among the parties on the basis of general seats the parties won in July 25 general election.

The inclusion of 33 reserved seats for women and minorities has elevated the total of Imran Khan’s party in the lower house of the parliament to 158 — just 14 short of the required simple majority. PTI has been allotted 28 reserved women and five minority seats.

The second largest party Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) that won 64 general seats will get two minority seats and 16 women seats, taking its final tally to 82 seats in the 342-member house.

According to the official party standings issued by the ECP, the Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP) was which acquired 42 general seats now has a total of 53 seats after being allotted nine seats reserved for women and two reserved for non-Muslims.

The Islamic parties coalition, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal, will have 15 members in the house with 12 general seats, two women and a minority member.

Karachi-based Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan’s (MQM-P) numbers increased to 7, while Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) has five seats in the National Assembly. After securing one reserved seat each, the Sindh’s Grand Democratic Alliance now has 3 seats, Balochistan National Party (BNP) 4 and Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) 5 seats. However, the Awami National Party, Jamhori Watan Party and Awami Muslim League could not secure any reserved seat as the parties won only one seat each.

President Mamnoon Hussain has summoned the National Assembly’s first session on August 13 when the newly elected members will take oath. The election for the new prime minister is expected to take place on August 17. The PTI that claimed victory in the 2018 general elections requires a simple majority to elect party chairman Imran Khan as the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan.

Breakdown of final seats in the Provincial Assemblies

Punjab Assembly

PTI is leading with 179 seats in the 371-member Punjab Assembly. In its traditional stronghold, PML-N is now ranking second with 164 seats. PML-Q has secured 10 seats in the provincial assembly and PPP seven seats. There are also four independent candidates in the provincial legislature.

Sindh Assembly

In the 168-member Sindh Assembly, the PPP is leading with a total of 97 seats. PTI now has 30 seats in Sindh Assembly, the MQM-P 21 members, the DGA 13, the Tehreek-e-Labaik Pakistan (TLP) three and the MMA one seat. There are 29 seats reserved for women and nine for non-Muslims in the Sindh Assembly.

Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly

PTI is leading with 84 seats in 124-member Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Assembly. The MMA is at the distant second with 13 seats. The ANP secured nine seats, the PML-N six, the PPP five and the PML-Q one seat.

Balochistan Assembly

The Balochistan Awami Party (BAP) leads the 65-member Balochistan Assembly with 20 seats. MMA and BNP stand second in the assembly with their 10 members each. PTI has seven seats, the ANP four and the BNP-Awami two. The PML-N, JWP, PkMAP and HDP have one seat each in the provincial legislature.


Share This Post